July

In July

I wrote you letters

Like lovers of olden days

Love, in ink, bleeding on pages

That I never sent.

The words spoke of how

I remembered the long, hazy afternoons

And the smell of your sweet perfume

That lingered in our room

Soaked in sweat

Of summer heat.

The clear blue skies and

the dusky brown sofa where you sat.

How the setting sun peeped through the pale curtains

And kissed your face as you lay beside me.

The golden hour dripping you in amber

And burning a fire in my soul.

Our love, soaked in sweltering summer air

With your hands on my waist and a wreath on my hair,

I wondered if anyone will ever know

The way we danced in the sunset glow;

Drunk in love and

Sipping from the chalice of youth.

And when you called my name

in July, for a moment

I thought, I could never love again.

In July

We fell in

And out of love.

The songs of our love

Ephemeral yet eternal

Remind me of how time

Is but an illusion.

And

In July

I spent a lifetime

Loving you.

Picture credit:

1. Roses by myself

2. Photo taken from Pinterest. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment